Lightning Protection

What types of lightning protection do all of you use if any? I ask because I was reviewing Sea Stars sad photos and noticed the underwater grounding plate. Do all of you use the same type of system?

Thanks much!

Bryon

3258115155_27e9804733.jpg

I’ve got the same thing on Elizabeth, which I assume is the lightening ground, and also some other kind of central bond…for SSB or for the tanks, to eliminate side flashes…or something like that, not 100% sure yet. However, I am in the middle of a cool book, The Boat Owner’s Guide To Corrosion - been one of the best books I’ve read so far. I’m just learning about this stuff as I try to track down my potential stray current issue - so if anyone has some words of enlightenment or correction here, I’m happy to hear them.

pics here…

OUTSIDE:

INSIDE:

Great Ben, thanks for the additional pics. Ordered the plates yesterday.

Seems like no one really knows what system is best for sure. To bond or not to bond is the question. I’ve read a couple of books on the subject and came away with completely different thoughts about it. I’m leaning toward using the plates as Lightning protection only and not grounding any electronics on these plates… i.e. un-bonded. Only time will tell.

Bryon

Newmar 18E I think mine said on it – is that wut you ordered?

I have been reluctant to respond to this subject because I covered my feelings in my book that most of you have on hand. There is no sure or positive proof that anything works to protect against lightning. The only thing that is for certain is what does not work.

Here in Panama, there is a lot of lightning strikes on boats. From what I have seen during my years of cruising is that something is better than nothing.

I have listened to Electrical engineers and no one agrees on what will really work. If there is someone here on this forum who has the answer, we would all like to know what that is.