"Little Wing" Takes A Big Knockdown

BCC Little Wing blog account of a knockdown in the Pacific

http://www.sailblogs.com/member/littlewing/

Wow. That was a pretty scary blog to read, I am very happy they are ok… sounded like one minute things were great and then as sometimes happens things turned ugly quickly… so to learn from what happened I am wondering what they could have done differently?

Should they have hove to? In their previous post before the event it sounded like they were cracking on past hull speed at over 11kts. At what point would one actually decide to hove to? Would being in a hove to situation stopped or minimized the likelyhood of this occuring?

Note - I am by no means trying to “Monday morning quarterback” or pass judgement on the decisions made. They are out there doing it and I hope some day to do that. However, I am not an expert (I am still just a coatal sailor) but I thought it would be interesting to discuss how best to approach a situation like this.

Hi KDreese , Gosh , you are very right in your query, Please do concern, yourself with details, that may concern you, during your voyage !

All of us know that it is hard to get actual at sea , experience , before we set off .

It took me eleven years to get ready to go, getting finances, and the boat ready to go, studying , everything , that I could get my hands on , so all of us out here, would not appreciate, if you arrived , un-prepared !!!

Pls , do your homework, well , that will get you , the rewards, you are after , Douglas

There is no point in attempting to analyse what occurred,it rather sounds as if this was a “freak” wave, which are not uncommon, even in calmer weather. The lessons to be learned are what to do AFTER you find yourself in serious trouble, and keeping your senses and dealing with situations becomes life critical.