ABI Windlass servicing

About a year ago in another thread Luis aboard Ahinga asked about how to unfreeze the clutch nut on the manual ABI windlass for servicing. I have a similar problem except that my clutch nut instead of loosening when turned counter clockwise turns the gears and pulls in chain.I’m new to the operation of this windlass, but shouldn’t the clutch nut only ease or firm up resistence? I’m looking to tear it down and service the thing and any info would be helpful.

I don?t know if this can be helpful in your case but at that time I could unfreeze the clutch with patience, applying repeatedly WD-40, tapping the thing with a nylon head mallet and using a gas torch to heat it up. After several days and almost give-up I could turn the clutch again.

Now I?m dealing with a similar problem: I?m trying to remove Anhinga thru-hulls from the original Spartan seacocks in order to maintain them.
As I don?t know other way I?m using again the same method.

Luis,

Try using a penetrating catalyst such as Liquid Wrench or PB Blaster, instead of WD-40. I have had great success with PB on all sorts of stuff - just spray it on a couple times a day for a few days, and it’ll get anything loose that’ll come loose. The exception is galled stainless.Be careful though - it stings like crazy if you get it in your eyes, and will stain paint/fiberglass if left to sit.

As an aside, it will also kill pests. Works on spiders, roaches, even hornets!

Cheers,
Aaron N.

There is also a product called “Kroil” that seems to work better for me than WD40. Same advice about staining and burning the eyes though.

Luis,

Did your clutch nut turn when it was frozen or was it locked in one position? Mine turns counter clockwise and turns the wildcat and everything else. I don’t think this is supposed to happen.I’ve been blasting it for a few days now with an excellent Japanese penetrating liquid, but as the nut turns in the direction it’s supposed to loosen,it won’t break free.