FC-22 Electrionics dilema

My Jolly Dolphin (SLM hull #3) has a nice Auto Helm 4000 plus electronic steering system that is currently integrated with the Garmin 3205 GPS. Very nice system but for me it is just too complicated and takes up too much space. The electrical wiring and room needed to mount and connect everything for the AH 4000, just complicates the simple (and compact) design of the FC-22. So here is the question, and I am trying to make it concise but?.

I am a novice sailor (I know and have done basic sailing (Hobie cats at the beach, punts, and other small sailboats around lakes/ponds), could get most any sailboat home from point A to point B and I am not an idiot so have confidence in a relatively short learning curve. I will spend June and July on the Chesapeake this summer learning the boat, the Bay and hopefully gain skill and confidence. I hope to do the ICW next winter to Florida and then back up to the Bay following summer?OK I am getting to it?

I don?t want to be the guy that has all the fancy equipment to navigate for me, so was thinking of yanking out the AH 4000 and the pasta bowl of wiring and put it on E-Bay and focus on sailing (actually at the helm) and learning to wind vane. JD has an old but what appears to be a very functional Hassler Wind Vane. Then once I know the boat and my wants/needs and if I find I want/need an electronic auto-helm buy a simpler, smaller unit that simply points in the direction I want when motoring or whatever. Bu something that does not need all the wiring and take up the physical and aesthetic space of a well planned but still tight interior?is this thinking wrong? Suggestions???

Anyone around Annapolis need a nice Auto Helm :slight_smile: ???

Peace and fair winds,
Joel

Joel,