Osmotic Blisters on BCC''s

To all members:

I am new to this so if this message goes through too many times someone please cut it.  My compliments to Jerry and the excellent job he has done on this site and providing the opportunity to discuss our boats.  As the builder, I would normally stay out of this as I feel it is between owners and interested parties.  If someone wanted to approach me as the builder, my email address is available.  However, after reading about the osmosis problems I should clear up a few questions and give my general response.

There is a lot of speculation about osmosis. There are many different theories that have some basis but not all the information is there to draw an absolute cause for all osmotic conditions. Let me try to explain:

Example 1: "Osmosis is caused by the improper mixture of catalyst and resin. When moisture exudes through a hull and comes in contact with this improper mixture, a gas is formed that causes expansion that causes blister." This is true...we think but usually this results in huge blisters the size of a dinner plate in the middle of the lamination and may not have any surface blisters.

Example 2: "Osmosis is caused by small air bubbles trapped within the lamination. When moisture comes in contact with these air bubbles a gas is created which causes expansion and blisters to occur." This also expected to be true but these blisters are about the size of a silver dollar and also are within the lamination. There are usually no sign of surface blisters. Both example 1 & 2 can effect the structural integrity of the vessel and would be of major concern.