Placement of Various Items

Hello Everyone,

It’s great to finally be settled into the new (old) BCC Vixen. As I begin updating some of her systems, I have the opportunity to really think about where to place it. I am curious if folks here could provide some insight.

Power Inlet - I am considering placing the power inlet in the sidewalls of the cockpit on the foreward end just before the companionway.

Side Running Lights - I am considering placing these on the forward end of the dog house.

Active Anchor Stowage - How do others stow their anchors off the sprit? The blocks on my bow, seen in the picture with the yellow box, prevent the anchor from resting clear of the bowsprit.

Also, Dave, let me know if you have any questions about the Gaff rigging. I am still learning but I am more than happy to post some pictures or whatever else you need.

Thanks Everyone.

Pictures:

This is how I store my anchor.

This is how I store my anchor. http://logofthe.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/img_0806.jpg

Hi Ben,
I would think twice about placing the power inlet on the sidewall of the cockpit. The cord which typically is pretty rigid might tend to project across the companionway. Mine is on the port side of the companionway and exits the connector towards the aft, close to the port cockpit sidewall.
This allows the cable to be curled around the perimeter of the cockpit floor and it’s never a trip hazard, and never gets in the way.
It’s also better protected from spray - especially if you have a dodger.

IMG_0487.jpg

Hi Ben,
Nice pictures! Anchor storage would be a good topic to discuss when you visit Shaula. If you use Search and try “anchor roller”, you’ll find some discussion. With the BCC’s plumb stem, raising the anchor aboard and stowing it on the gamon iron’s roller is certain to result in dings to the stem’s gel coat. Shaula has half a dozen repaired dings.