Sail Cloth Weight

The archives hit all around my question but I’m still not sure. Best cloth weight for Main and stays’l? I plan on using cream colored Hayward Clipper cloth; it comes in 7 or 10 oz. My sail maker suggests 7 oz but “double up on the leech on the main and stays’l if you don’t mind the sail being darker on the last panel, or go with the 10 oz”. For discussions sake let’s say I am going blue water sailing. (on a mission to find Shanti)

Dave, im no expert, but IIRC 7oz is pretty standard mains’l & stays’l weight for our boats. The other thought is light airs and that 10oz main might really suck. Seems as though I’ve heard of people building “mifters” or “mainsters” - a light weight main for light airs.

I’m no expert either !

However, ELLIOTT / PATTISON SAILMAKERS INC. were apparently the original makers for
Sam L. Morse and they offered me the main and staysail in 8.3 oz Dacron.

www.epsails.com
Loft: 949 645-6697
Cell: 949 275-3302

Dave:

Our main and staysail were built with Hayward ~ 8 oz tanbark Sunwing Classic UV stabilized sailcloth. We think the jib was made from the same fabric.

Richard Haywards, a 300 year old company that made sailcloth for Lord Nelson’s Navy, was purchased by Heathcoat several year ago. Since then, the website stinks.

The main advantage Haywards UV stabilized cloth is the UV inhibitor is in the yarn, not the sizing.

Rod

Dave:

Our main and staysail were built with Hayward ~ 8 oz tanbark Sunwing Classic UV stabilized sailcloth. We think the jib was made from the same fabric.

Richard Haywards, a 300 year old company that made sailcloth for Lord Nelson’s Navy, was purchased by Heathcoat several year ago. Since then, the website stinks.

The main advantage Haywards UV stabilized cloth is the UV inhibitor is in the yarn, not the sizing.

Rod

I just sold my boat, it had the original 8 oz sails, still in good shape after 103,000 nautical miles.

10 oz would be a bear to handle, and too heavy for light air.