Stainless Steel Chainplate Source

Looking to source some chainplates. I’m new to this. Is this something I can order off the shelf or do I need to send/take my old ones in as a template. Who here has had to replace any chainplates? Who supplied the original chainplates to SLM?

Thanks,
Ben

Ben: Hi!

Supplier of the chainplates (and gammon iron, cranse iron, and various tangs) for BCC28-116 was:

Marine Machine and Manufacturing (otherwise known as MarMachine)
719 Ohms Way
Costa Mesa CA 92627
Telephone: (949) 645 7601
Mobile phone: (949) 294 2171 (Mr Leigh Knudson)
E-mail: catruckman@aol.com
URL: http://members.aol.com/catruckman/marmach/marmach.htm

Read the note on the Marmachine website about the consequences of the continuing closure of quality boatbuilders in Southern California. And also check out the gear that Leigh is selling on e-Bay (such as Machinist’s tool box made in oak).

Cheers

Bil

Bil,

Thanks for the info, I contacted Leigh, he says he doesn’t have any templates and also stated that he wasn’t the last manufacturer to make the chainplates for SLM. I wasn’t able to find that note about quality boat yards closing…

-Ben

Cape George Marine works can supply probably via Port Townsend foundry.

tnx, will def check out!

According to data I got from Sumio, these items were supplied by “MarMarine” as opposed to “MarMachine”, but that could be an error, as I can’t find any trace of them on the web:

Chain Plates
Boomkin Plates
Boomkin Stay Tangs
Whisker Stay Tangs
Crance Iron
Gammon Iron W/rollrs
Hook, Anchor
Roller, Stern Anchor
Bowsprit Base Socket
Mast Base, Alum 7 X 14
Washers, Sq. 1 7/8
Bobstay Tang
Chain Plates
Boomkin Plates
Boomkin Stay Tangs
Whisker Stay Tangs
Gammon Iron
Hatch, Aft Bracket
Anti-Chafe Plate

I would imagine, however, That Port Townsend Foundry (Who have suplied chainplates to other BCC users) is the best avenue. They will probably not be predrilled,

Regards
John