Transducers

My wife says no more lead line, which I admit is a little old fashion, but it does work quite well I have little to no experience with transducers and was wondering how other BCC’s are set up.

Kathy & Tycho Horning’s Penguin is the only BCC I have a picture of a transducer/speedo.

Also any suggestions/referrals on good units?

Thanks for you opinions.

Bryon

P.S. anything good available in a flush mount? I noticed somewhere that some transducers have their components pre set to a certain angle.

Bryon

I installed an in hull transducer this spring so that I would not have another thru hull, it is working fine. I have a Garmin chart plotter so it was one I bought through them. It does not do speed through water, I figured I can estimate that fairly well and if I want any better than that I can turn on the GPS and get SOG.
Jonathan

Hi Bryon, On Calliste I use a “Standard Horizon”, Depth sounder.

I mounted the transducer inside the hull, following the supplied instructions.

It seems to work well, and I don’t have to purchase and use that special transducer anti foul paint , anymore.

I placed the transducer, just up-slope from the galley sink drain thru-hull, in the same locker, to be out-of-the-way.

Douglas

I do not use “special” transducer paint. I reasoned if the transducer can “fire” through the hull, then it can “fire” through bottom paint. I have done this for several years and the depth sounder always work.

IDUNA

In hull sounds like the way to go for sure.

I too was thinking of putting it under the sink behind the seacock.

Thanks,

Bryon

Bryon: Hi!

Traditional depth sounders, like a lead line, tell you about the bottom you’ve just passed over. What you need to know is what the depth is ahead of you: whether a coral reef is just ahead, a rock, a sand bar etc.

For that you need a Forward Looking Sonar, like the Interphase Twinscope. See http://www.interphase-tech.com/colortwinscopese.htm.